Something in the works…

It’s been awhile since I have written. Things have changed dramatically for us– not necessarily A’s behavior, but my outlook and philosophy. I can’t spill the beans just yet, because we need time to get A involved, but I am happier than ever right now.

I am tired of therapy- tired of my little boy spending his afternoons at appointments to talk about his feelings and his medications. No more sticker charts and rewards– although he does like working for specific items, so we are keeping that up– he just earned a new CD for attending school 5 days in a row!

A is off the amantadine now. He’s pretty hyper, but I think it is a big step in the right direction where meds aren’t controlling him– a busy, structured envrionment is. Our plan for the next two weeks is to keep him very busy and active. In two weeks A leaves on a 12 day program for kids with ADHD– he will be white water rafting, rock climbing and also go on a llama trek! We are all really excited! (www.soarnc.org)

He’ll return for two weeks of day camp and then off to 4 weeks of sleepaway camp at http://www.roundlakecamp.org/

The rest, my friends…I can’t say yet ;o) But it’s good. Really good!

3 Responses to “Something in the works…”

  1. Mama Bear Says:

    What great news! I’m excited to hear what you have left to share. I agree with being tired with therapy, I’m going through that stage right now. Hope camp is a success!

  2. h. Jaffe Says:

    It sounds very hopeful – I’m so glad for you.

  3. Laura Says:

    We like good!

    😀

Leave a Reply

